A prayer of invocation

I was asked to give the “prayer of invocation” at the recent installation service of David Johnson as President at Providence.

I agreed to do it and figured that I would find an appropriate prayer online somewhere, or perhaps several prayers from which I could draw and then piece together (and edit) what I found most helpful. I wanted to find something that would be both appropriate for an academic setting and yet also distinctly Christian.

Well it wasn’t so easy. There are lots of prayers that are either (a) Christian but rather sentimental or (b) academic but vague and formal to the point of being impersonal. My wife Elena, after kindly having done a bunch of searching for me (she’s better at web searching than I am), finally suggested that I simply write my own. I was apprehensive at first (to put it mildly . . . I come from a low church tradition and am not accustomed to writing prayers for formal occasions), but with her encouragement I sat down and wrote one. I’m thankful for her wisdom and prodding. I think it really was the best thing to do.

I’ve decided to share it here as an act of praise to God, as an encouragement to all who read it to direct their thoughts to God, and as a service for others who might want to use it.

– – – – – – – –

Almighty God, Creator of all, source of all that exists,
both seen and unseen,
We welcome you here;
We give you praise and glory for all that you are and all that you do;
Grant that we may honour you in our pursuit
of goodness, beauty, and truth.

Lord Jesus Christ, Word of God and Son of the Father,
though whom all things were created, in whom all things hold together,
and by whom all things are remade and redeemed;
We welcome you here;
We give you praise and glory for all that you are and all that you do;
Grant that we may honour you as we seek your kingdom,
in love and service to you and one another,
and give us wisdom to see and understand all things in light of you.

Holy Spirit, breath of life, flame of love,
sustainer and perfecter of all things,
We welcome you here;
We give you praise and glory for all that you are and all that you do;
Grant that we may honour you as we seek your future,
even as it breaks into our present;
Give us vision to see your new creation and faith to pursue it;
Renew our hearts and minds to love and serve you.

In the name of our Lord Jesus, to the glory of the Father,

Amen.

This entry was posted in prayer, Theology and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A prayer of invocation

  1. Susan says:

    lovely. Thank you.

Comments are closed.