Thomas à Kempis: Prayer of the Disciple

A friend recently posted part of a prayer, written by Thomas à Kempis, from chapter 42 of his classic book The Imitation of Christ. It resonates with me, so I thought I’d share it here. I’ll likely post the whole section later.

“O Heavenly Father, Father of my Lord Jesus Christ, blessed be Your Name for ever, for You have deigned to consider me, the poorest of Your servants. Father of mercies and God of all comfort (2 Cor. 1:3), I thank You that, unworthy as I am, You sometimes refresh me with Your consolation. Blessing and glory to You, with Your sole-begotten Son and with the Holy Spirit the Comforter, now and through endless ages. You are my glory (Ps. 3:3), and the joy of my heart (Ps. 119:111); for You are my hope, and my refuge in time of trouble (Ps 59:16).

As yet my love is weak, and my virtue imperfect, and I have great need of Your strength and comfort. Therefore, visit me often, I pray, and instruct me in Your holy laws. Set me free from evil passions, and heal my heart from all disorderly affections; that, healed and cleansed in spirit, I may grow able to love, strong to endure, and steadfast to persevere.”

Source: https://www.worldinvisible.com/library/akempis/imitation/contents.htm

This entry was posted in quotes, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.